Ghost Girl by Ally Malinenko - Review and Interview

 

*Click image for AffLink



Perfect for fans of Small Spaces and Nightbooks, Ally Malinenko’s debut is an empowering and triumphant ghost story——with spooky twists sure to give readers a few good goosebumps!

Zee Puckett loves ghost stories. She just never expected to be living one.

It all starts with a dark and stormy night. When the skies clear, everything is different. People are missing. There’s a creepy new principal who seems to know everyone’s darkest dreams. And Zee is seeing frightening things: large, scary dogs that talk and maybe even . . . a ghost.

When she tells her classmates, only her best friend Elijah believes her. Worse, mean girl Nellie gives Zee a cruel nickname: Ghost Girl.

But whatever the storm washed up isn’t going away. Everyone’s most selfish wishes start coming true in creepy ways.

To fight for what’s right, Zee will have to embrace what makes her different and what makes her Ghost Girl. And all three of them—Zee, Elijah, and Nellie—will have to work together if they want to give their ghost story a happy ending.








The perfect book to order for your spooky season roundup coming up!!! All the middle grade students wanting scary but not murder mystery - this is THE BOOK!


  •   "A girl who delights in the macabre harnesses her inherited supernatural ability. The creepy supernatural current continues throughout, intermingled with very real forays into bullying (Zee won’t stand for it or for the notion that good girls need to act nice), body positivity, socio-economic status and social hierarchy, and mental health. . . Warning: this just might spurn frenzied requests for Frankenstein." –– Kirkus Reviews 

  • ·         This is a chilling story that will ­delight upper elementary readers who enjoy truly creepy books.” –– Julie Overpeck, School Library Journal 

  • ·         “My absolute favorite part of this book (besides the library-love, which I am always here for) was that CONSENT is the secret weapon. (I don't think that's spoilery because I'm keeping it out of context for this review.) I was cheering as I read and think it's such a great message to make consent so powerful. Love, love, love.” –– Candice, Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars 
















Comments

Popular posts from this blog

2017 Mock Newbery Ideas *Ongoing Post

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling - Teacher and Student Review