Posts

Showing posts from March, 2020

Arianne Costner Interview

Image
I'm thrilled to have author Arianne Costner on our blog today. Her debut book, My Life as a Potato is out in the world, and can be purchased at  Indiebound ,  Brain Lair Books , Amazon, or BN.com I mentioned on Twitter that I've been in a reading slump lately. Normally, my go-to books are sad contemporary YA, but those haven't felt right. Enter this debut novel. It's a whole lot of fun and just what I needed right now. Filled with wonderfully weird middle school jokes and snafus, there are plenty of places in this book where you'll laugh out loud. I started reading it aloud to my 9-year-old and he appreciates the slapstick humor. I could also see reading this aloud to my 8 graders who would not only appreciate the humor, but recognize the struggles of a tween trying to find his place.

IMWAYR 3.20 - Teachers Who Read Girls

Image

IMWAYR~March 25th

Image
Good morning! I hope everyone is staying safe at home and enjoying this time to read. I can honestly tell you this time has my nerves SHOT! My oldest is considered high-risk if she contracts covid-19 because she has a compromised immune system. My worry is for her. She has been in the house since her school has closed last Tuesday. So, there are a lot of walks and playing in the back yard! Of course lots of READING! Here's what we are reading this week! Have a good week and stay healthy! Andrea 

Bullet Book Review with @mrs_cmt1489

Image
Teachers: here are resources you can access  Disclaimer:  I'm a 5th grade teacher in south central Texas, what works for my kids may not work for your kids, and what does work; it may work the same or in different ways. In the end, they're all kids - they all need to be exposed to many lives, cultures, history, and experiences as possible.  *Affiliate image - click to purchase! Here in the Real World By: Sara Pennypacker For fans of:   Escaping reality, avoiding reality, finding your  place, knowing who you really are, making unlikely friends First Line(s):  "Ware patted the two bricks stacked beside him on the pool deck, scored on the morning's ramble. Tomorrow he'd bash them into chips to build the ramparts of his castle, but tonight had another use for them." The author:   Sara Pennypacker is the author of the #1  New York Times  bestselling  Pax ; the award-winning Clementine books and its spinoff series, Waylon!; and th

IMWAYR: 3.9.20

Image
    It's the start of another 5-day-week. Testing is right around the corner in Ohio, but we are still making time for independent reading. There are so many great releases coming  this spring. Hopefully, you find your next read!

Things You Can't Say - Jenn Bishop (Author Interview and Reviews)

Image
Perfect for fans of  See You in the Cosmos  and  The Science of Breakable Things , author Jenn Bishop tells the moving story of a boy determined to uncover the truth. Nothing is going right this summer for Drew. And after losing his dad unexpectedly three years ago, Drew knows a lot about things not going right. First, it’s the new girl Audrey taking over everything at the library, Drew’s sacred space. Then it’s his best friend, Filipe, pulling away from him. But most upsetting has to be the mysterious man who is suddenly staying with Drew’s family. An old friend of Mom’s? Drew isn’t buying that. With an unlikely ally in Audrey, he’s determined to get to the bottom of who this man really is. The thing is, there are some fears—like what if the person you thought was your dad actually  wasn’t —that you can’t speak out loud, not to anyone. At least that’s what Drew thinks. But then again, first impressions can be deceiving.   Advance Praise for  Things You Can't Say: