Posts

Showing posts from September, 2019

IMWAYR: 9.23.19

Image
This is going to be a short IMWAYR post. It turns out that buying and selling a house, while working full time with three kids, is incredibly time consuming. Normally, I'm reading more than one book at once, but right now, my goal is just to finish a book a week. Right now I'm reading Pet, with Capturing the Devil on deck! Be sure to visit Unleashing Readers  to see what Kellee and Jen are reading! Have a great week!

Queen of Sci-Fi: Margaret Peterson Haddix

Image
I feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to build a relationship with Margaret over the past few years in sharing her books with our ARC sharing group, #BookVoyage, and now having the privilege to interview her for Teachers Who Read.  I know most of us as educators are familiar with MPH through her Among the Hidden series - the series that brought science fiction to life in classrooms, the series that made children want to read and know more, the series that I know in the end I can turn to and it will ALWAYS work to get kids hooked.  One thing I want to share is that over the last few years she has came out with some of my favorite books. I truly don't know how she does what she does, how she produces so many stories in such a short amount of time. Her imagination is beyond inspiring and something that I would love to be one day in the future.  Her most recent of mine,  Remarkables,  is a stand alone book that I couldn't put down. It was a story with a

IMWAYR: Spetember 16th

Image
Hello Hello! Another week of reading is here and we are loving all the books. I started a book but with some of my previous students, we are loving Storm Runner.  I also love that I have an excuse to hang out with all my now fifth-graders. I have missed having them in class (even though they are just down the hall). I'm always looking forward to their daily hugs on their way down the hall.  Well....with that being said, here is what we are reading this week.  I hope you have a wonderful week full of reading :) Don't forget to comment what you are reading and what you are liking about your book or books!

A Swirl of Ocean Review and Interview

Image
*Affiliate link! Synopsis:  A touching, timeless novel--perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lauren Wolk--about a girl who discovers that the ocean is holding secrets she never could have imagined. Twelve-year-old Summer loves the ocean. The smell, the immensity, the feeling she gets when she dives beneath the surface. She has lived in Barnes Bluff Bay since she was two years old, when Lindy found her on the beach. It's been the two of them ever since. But now, ten years later, Summer feels uncertainty about her place with Lindy and starts to wonder about where she came from. One night, Summer goes for a swim and gets caught in a riptide, swallowing mouthfuls of seawater. And that night, she dreams of a girl. A girl her age living in the same town, but not in the same time. Summer's not persuaded that this girl is real, but something about her feels familiar. Summer dreams again and again about this girl, Tink, and becomes convinced that she is connected to her past.