Kids Managing Covid - 13 Things Strong Kids Do! - Review

 

Click on the image to purchase the book! 
*Afflink

The internationally bestselling author of 13 Things Mentally Strong People Don’t Do, Amy Morin, empowers tweens, teaching them how to think, feel, and act stronger than ever! Perfect for fans of The Confidence Code for Girls, this book tackles mental strength in a relatable way. Filled with fun graphics and illustrations throughout.

“This book is a powerful gift to kids—it shows them how to help themselves!” —Claire Shipman, New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Confidence Code for Girls

Do you worry that you don’t fit in? Do you feel insecure sometimes? Do you wish your life looked as perfect as everyone else on social media? Do you have anxiety about things you can’t control? Being a tween can be really hard, especially in today’s world.

You balance it all—homework, extracurricular activities, chores, friendship drama, and family, all while trying to give the impression that you know exactly what you’re doing. Sometimes when we try to look perfect on the outside, we can feel rotten in the inside.  Do you want to become a stronger person, inside and out? By picking up this book, you’re already taking the first step toward becoming a better person where it counts—by training your brain.

Prominent psychotherapist and social worker Amy Morin offers relatable scenarios, then shows tweens the ways they can develop healthy habits, build mental strength, and take action toward becoming their best selves. 13 Things Strong Kids Do gives tweens the tools needed to overcome life’s toughest challenges.

This nonfiction middle grade book is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 8, including those living through the stresses of homeschooling, returning to the classroom, and navigating a changed and stressful world.


A person sitting on a table

Description automatically generatedAmy Morin is a licensed clinical social worker, instructor at Northeastern University, and psychotherapist. She is the author of the international bestseller 13 Things Mentally Strong People Don’t Do, as well as 13 ThingsMentally Strong Parents Don’t Do. Amy is a regular contributor to Verywell, CNBC, Forbes, Inc., and Psychology Today. She gave one of the most viewed TEDx talks of all time and was named the “self-help guru of the moment” by The Guardian. She lives in Marathon, Florida. 13 Things Mentally Strong Kids Do is her fourth book.

 

 

“Morin, a clinical social worker, lays out the 13 everyday habits that could be holding you back from achieving your best self. For example, dwelling on the past and resenting others for their success is not making your life any better. (Again, shocking!) Morin wants to help you change these negative behaviors into positive ones...so maybe you should let her.”

Cosmopolitan on 13 Things Mentally Strong People Don’t Do


Watching parents try and navigate not only life, but answers to kids during this pandemic as a teacher has been a struggle. When everything changed a year ago, I felt I was drowning in juggling teaching and being home with my two toddlers who just weren't really understanding much of anything. I had parents emailing me on how to manage the situation, what best ways to support, and even still trying to navigate those who chose to work from home during this school year. This is a great book to empower kids to understand how truly strong and resilient they are. 

I especially loved that this story was not preachy or condescending. I feel like kids get enough of that in their day to day, either in person or via social media/gaming outlets they turn to. The language she uses is simple and easy to follow for readers of this age group. The way it's written is helpful in being able to target this audience and really engage her intended audience. 

I highly recommend for those who need a little boost of confidence - this school year has been challenging. This may just be the right book to remind those kids who they are, and all they have to offer. 






0

Author Recommendation: Melanie Weiss

 



Melanie Weiss lives in Oak Park, Illinois. Her debut novel, Spoken,

received a 2019 Readers’ Favorite Award for Young Adult-Social Issues.

Melanie is available for Author Visits at Schools and Libraries for grades 1 to 12.

Please contact directly at: melweiss1@comcast.net. 


*Click the titles to order! 

Oliver's Birthday and the Robin's Nest (ages 5-9)
I loved reading this story to my 5 (almost 6) year old. Birthdays are starting to become a big thing to him and this was such a great message. I appreciated how much it models important social skills - empathy, understanding, siblings (did I tell you I also have a 2 (almost 3) year old, so the fighting is real when it happens), and respecting nature. I plan to read and reread with him so that we can have constant discussions of these important social characteristics. 

Synopsis: What kid doesn't want to have an epic birthday party? Seven-year-old Oliver has always wanted an awesome party, but because his birthday is on the Fourth of July, his friends are busy celebrating America's birthday. For his eighth birthday, Oliver's family plans a Pirate Ship Bouncy House party for him two weeks early, so all of his friends can attend, dressed in pirate gear, of course!

But then there's a new problem. A mommy robin builds a nest and lays her eggs tucked in the greenery on Oliver's back deck, just inches from the spot on the driveway where the birthday Pirate Ship Bouncy House will sit. While Oliver is mad, his older sister becomes the robins' biggest fan and teaches Oliver all about them, winning him over. After the bird babies hatch, Oliver wants to help protect the robin family. But can he still have the amazing birthday party he has dreamed about for so long?

 



SPOKEN (ages 12+)

NOW ALSO AVAILABLE ON AUDIBLE!

Again, another story that Weiss has provided a positive message - this time to teens! This story helped teens understand how important it is to work through their issues and give themselves some self worth. The support and friendships and first loves Roman gained throughout the story were fantastically woven in. There were so many teen "angsty" issues that helped and allowed Roman to find where he fit, where he belonged. I believe this is the type of story so many young adults need to read. 

Synopsis: High school freshman Roman Santi has everything -- good looks, great friends, a mansion with an infinity swimming pool -- except the one thing he really wants. A relationship with his father.


When Roman’s life gets turned upside down, (thanks, Mom!?), he is forced to leave his pampered Hollywood lifestyle and move into his grandparents’ Midwestern home. Sleeping on a lumpy pullout sofa and starting at a new high school is the worst, but Roman’s life starts to look up when his pink-haired friend, Zuzu, and his crush, a classmate named Claire, introduce him to performance poetry through the high school's Spoken Word Club. While his mom is flying back and forth to L.A., trying to return them to the life they had, Roman becomes part of a diverse group of characters who challenge his rather privileged view of the world. Through Spoken Word, Roman recognizes the hole in his own life he needs to fill and discovers his voice. Spoken Word leads Roman on a journey of new friendships, first love, and finding the dad he never knew.

 


Crossing Lines (ages 14+)
A timely story provided for teenagers now in 2021 and how our lives were turned upside down in the past year. The story covers the political strife that students are faced with. A school shooting puts the main characters on opposite sides of gun control; which seems to be how much the world has become in the last few years. Weiss did a great job of addressing this issue. Finding common ground when there are major differences is so hard and so huge (Adults even need a big taste in this lesson). Check out Crossing Lines to see how Alli and Brandon navigate this issue. 
Synopsis: Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon are the perfect couple, enjoying their final months of high school and making big plans for the future. When a horrific school shooting sparks a national movement, Alli gets involved with protests in support of gun control legislation, while Brandon defends his pro-gun beliefs and stays on the sidelines. These shifting priorities lead Alli and Brandon to question not only each other but their world views, as they begin to stand up for something bigger than themselves for the first time. Ages 14+





 







0

Haley's Spring Break Reads





















 

0