PUZZLOOIES!

 

*AFFLINK
Click above to purchase! Check out all the books coming in the series!!

RANDOM HOUSE CHILDREN’S BOOKS TO LAUNCH

PUZZLOOIES!

A NEW SOLVE-THE-PUZZLE ADVENTURE SERIES

PRODUCED BY BIG YELLOW TAXI, INC.


Written by game designer and author of the Samantha Spinner book series Russell Ginns, PUZZLOOIES! is perfect for readers in grades 2–6 who love Brain Game for Clever Kids, the A to Z Mysteries, and Mad Libs! The first four books in the series will be published on May 11, 2021, right in time for summer vacation.

 

Each stand-alone PUZZLOOIES! book mixes word searches, secret codes, brain teasers, optical illusions, and other puzzles with a wacky story packed with jokes and humor. Every book culminates in a final challenge that requires readers to call on puzzle solutions from previous chapters. The series is perfect for readers who like to write, decode, cipher, and trace their way through a story, and for parents looking for a new puzzle-book series their child can binge-read (and solve!).

 

The Puzzlooies! series will launch its first four titles on May 11, 2021, including:

 

Puzzlooies! Space Cats to the Rescuewhere readers head to deep space with a ragtag crew of astronaut cats on a desperate mission to prevent our planet from being pulverized by an incoming giant meteor

Puzzlooies! Mystery at Mallard Mansiona hilarious whodunit where readers cross eggs-amine witnesses to discover the bird responsible for the murder of the most famous web-footed movie star, Marvin Mallard

Puzzlooies! One of Our Giant Robots Is Missing, where readers will go on the lam with a 500-foot-tall robot that escaped from the RoboWorld theme park

Puzzlooies! The Last Donuta mouthwatering race to find the yummiest, gooiest, tastiest, and most valuable baked treat to ever come off the glaze line


RUSSELL GINNS is a writer and game designer who specializes in puzzles, songs, and smart fun. He has worked on projects for a wide variety of organizations, corporations, and publications, including Sesame Workshop, Girl Scouts of America, Nintendo, and Scientific American. Russell lives and writes in Washington, D.C. He is the author of the Samantha Spinner book series, among others. To learn more about him, follow @rginns on Twitter.

 







0

Brave as a Mouse - Picture Book Review

 

Click on the image to PREORDER!

OUT MAY 25! 
*Afflink 

Upon first glance at this story, I was so taken away by the illustrations - they are so clean and smooth, it just felt good to look at. The anticipation build up of the shadow images of cats wanting to play with the fish, too - I can only imagine the inferring discussions I could be having with my students. The mouse leading the cats with his trickery, so clever. In the classroom I would be using this moment to come up with some figurative language to describe what the mouse is up to - then by using all of the adjectives the story used, students can come up with their own examples as well. The ending was not at all how I expected the story to take a turn. Loved it. Beautifully done.


A goldfish and a mouse become fast friends as they play in and around the goldfish's bowl.



But when three cats crash the party and terrify the poor goldfish, the brave little mouse gets an idea. She leads the three black cats on a wild and epic chase up and down and over and around until they find themselves surrounded by absolutely irresistible food in the pantry. The cats gorge themselves so much that they fall into a deep sleep, but the mouse knows they won't sleep forever. So the brave little mouse gets another idea to keep the goldfish out of harm's way for good!


 

This is a heartwarming story with a simple text and gorgeous illustrations about the lengths one brave mouse will go to in order to save her friend. Perfect as gifts and for the classrooms, this book is packed with an inspiring message—it is not always easy standing up for someone; but with tenacity and quick thinking, even a mouse, the smallest of creatures, can defeat a much larger enemy.


 

Nicolò Carozzi is an up-and-coming author-illustrator to watch. His lyrical and cinematic art style is new, yet familiar. While he started illustrating in 2013, BRAVE AS A MOUSE is his debut picture book in the US. Pairing Nicolò’s rich and beautiful illustrations with a time-honored tale of cat and mouse, this story has the makings of an instant classic.




Nicolò Carozzi is a Veronese architect, teacher, and illustrator. He was awarded first prize for the EurHope illustration competition in 2013 and has been a shortlisted illustrator for three Folio Society competitions. He made his illustration debut with the Italian picture book The Magic Lamp of Aladdin by Davide Calì. See more of his work at nicolocarozzi.com




0

Replaced Parts Blog Tour


Replaced Parts

In the year 2163 a corrupt World Government controls everything on our planet and beyond.

Sixteen year-old Sierra has been so caught up in her own world of saving animal test subjects and her father’s disappearance, she hasn’t paid much attention. When she finally finds his location, she and her friend set off on a covert interplanetary mission to rescue him, she begins to see the corruption first hand.

Discovering that her father has been on the front lines secretly trying to save human test subjects inspires her to join a revolution. But she is afraid of the collateral damage of hurting the people she loves. Will she find the strength to make a deal with the mad scientist Cromwell to save not just her friends and family but everyone?

My Thoughts:

Sierra is 16, and on a mission to find her missing dad. Her mission takes her to Planet Vortex, where she must devise a plan to save her dad from the evil Dr. Cromwell. This has all the hallmarks of a suspenseful Sci-Fi: action, secret codes, a corrupt government, advanced technology, and far-away planets. Bonus-a female scientist!                                                                                                                                                                

 My sixth graders are in the middle of their second round of book clubs this year, and they're focusing specifically on world-building. So when I started this book, set on Planet Vortex, I knew immediately I wanted to pull some excerpts like the one below, to use for mentor texts in class. 

"...I look out the school windows and see only the steel and glass of surrounding buildings. Their reflections mirror the sky. Today the unending blue gives the impression of being in the middle of the sea. On gray days, it’s as if I’ve been swallowed by thunderclouds. I can only imagine how green fields would look. People used to love the smell of fresh-cut grass. That was before an asteroid broke through the atmosphere damaging our ecosystem and killing all plants, causing our world to work together to save Earth and its remaining, limited vegetation. The only vegetation left is kept in guarded areas and labs." 


About Stephanie Hansen

Stephanie Hansen is a PenCraft Award Winning Author. Her short story, Break Time, and poetry has been featured in Mind’s Eye literary magazine. The Kansas Writers Association published her short story, Existing Forces, appointing her as a noted author. She has held a deep passion for writing since early childhood, but a brush with death caused her to allow it to grow. She’s part of an SCBWI critique group in Lawrence, KS and two local book clubs. She attends many writers’ conferences including the Writing Day Workshops, New York Pitch, Penned Con, New Letters, All Write Now, Show Me Writers Master Class, BEA, and Nebraska Writers Guild conference as well as Book Fairs and Comic-Cons. She is a member of the deaf and hard of hearing community.Find out more about her at her website, and follow her on FacebookInstagramTwitter, and Pinterest.

Purchase Links

Fire & Ice Amazon | Barnes & Noble




1

IMWAYR: 5.3.21

 




0

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey - Out May 4

 

*Link takes you to my Instagram account:)

“Utterly endearing!” —Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books


"Hilarious and heart-melting.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax


Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!


Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is an illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller, and Ramona the Pest will be thrilled to meet Marisol.

Marisol Rainey’s mother was born in the Philippines. Marisol’s father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard she calls Peppina . . . but she’s way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana town with a mother who was born elsewhere and a father who lives elsewhere (most of the time)—the only girl who’s fearful of adventure and fun.


Will Marisol be able to salvage her summer and have fun with Jada, her best friend? Maybe. Will Marisol figure out how to get annoying Evie Smythe to leave her alone? Maybe. Will Marisol ever get to spend enough real time with her father? Maybe. Will Marisol find the courage to climb Peppina? Maybe.  


Told in short chapters with illustrations by the author on nearly every page, Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, and the triumph of overcoming your fears in this stunning new novel for readers of Kevin Henkes, Meg Medina, Andrew Clements, Sara Pennypacker,  and Kate DiCamillo. 


Features black-and-white artwork throughout by Erin Entrada Kelly.


Marisol Rainey is the most down to earth 8 year old I’ve ever met in a story. She’s so real, so raw. I love that Erin shared she’s a reflection of herself as a kid, which makes it all that more indulging. You get to know Erin as a child through the character development of Marisol.
Marisol has fears. She sometimes feels ashamed of these fears, but with a best friend, Jada, who is always supportive, she knows deep down she can do anything. Maybe, just maybe, she will muster up that courage. Especially to climb her tree, Peppina. This is the best for an early chapter book! Look out for it in May!

Here are some friends reviews! 





*Afflink to help support Teachers Who Read when you click to purchase! 

0