Posts

Showing posts from May, 2021

UPCOMING: Picture book MUST HAVES

Image
  June 15:  Help—Dino-Gro won’t stop growing bigger and bigger! From Matt Myers, the  New York Times  bestselling illustrator of  Battle Bunny  comes  DINO-GRO , a laugh-out-loud story of a little sponge dinosaur that keeps growing...and growing...and growing.... Cole is very excited about his new Dino-Gro toy. He can't wait for it to reach its full size! But when Dino-Gro becomes much larger than intended, Cole goes so far as to put Dino-Gro on a liquid-free diet and an exercise regimen, which don't seem to make a difference! As Dino-Gro becomes so big that he can't fit in the house, Cole learns that growing up and getting bigger can have advantages too, even if you're not a dinosaur.   DINO-GRO   falls into the “what-if” category of picture books—what seems like an ordinary story takes a turn into the extraordinary.  For fans of  Tiny T. Rex  and  We Don't Eat Our Classmates , this sweet and hilarious read-aloud is perfect for kids to learn the importance of growi

The Academy Saga Blog Tour

Image
About  The Academy Saga • Publisher:  BrandyLight Ink • Paperback:  515 pages Kate Connelly should be careful what she wishes for. Just seventeen, she already feels like she’s suffocating. Since her mother’s death, her father’s basically checked out, so she’s stuck raising her brothers by herself out in the New Mexico scrub. All Kate wants is a little distraction from the same-ole, same-ole that is her life. When two mysterious guys show up at the diner where she works, she thinks her wish has come true, until they start giving her a hard time. Like her life isn’t hard enough. Something about them niggles her, but she brushes it off. She’s never going to see them again anyway… right? Then they appear in an alley one night to either rescue or kidnap her (she’s still not sure which) before disappearing like figments of her imagination. Kate decides to put the bizarre encounters out of her mind. She has bigger problems to worry about: like that elite military academy that’s been pursuing

PUZZLOOIES!

Image
  *AFFLINK Click above to purchase! Check out all the books coming in the series!! RANDOM HOUSE CHILDREN’S BOOKS TO LAUNCH P U Z Z L O O I E S ! A NEW SOLVE-THE-PUZZLE ADVENTURE SERIES PRODUCED BY BIG YELLOW TAXI, INC. Written by game designer and author of the Samantha Spinner book series Russell Ginns,  PUZZLOOIES!  is perfect for readers in grades 2–6 who love  Brain Game for Clever Kids , the  A to Z Mysteries,  and  Mad Libs!  The first four books in the series will be published on May 11, 2021, right in time for summer vacation.   Each stand-alone  PUZZLOOIES!  book mixes word searches, secret codes, brain teasers, optical illusions, and other puzzles with a wacky story packed with jokes and humor. Every book culminates in a final challenge that requires readers to call on puzzle solutions from previous chapters. The series is perfect for readers who like to write, decode, cipher, and trace their way through a story, and for parents looking for a new puzzle-book series their chil

Brave as a Mouse - Picture Book Review

Image
  Click on the image to PREORDER! OUT MAY 25!  *Afflink  Upon first glance at this story, I was so taken away by the illustrations - they are so clean and smooth, it just felt good to look at. The anticipation build up of the shadow images of cats wanting to play with the fish, too - I can only imagine the inferring discussions I could be having with my students. The mouse leading the cats with his trickery, so clever. In the classroom I would be using this moment to come up with some figurative language to describe what the mouse is up to - then by using all of the adjectives the story used, students can come up with their own examples as well. The ending was not at all how I expected the story to take a turn. Loved it. Beautifully done. A goldfish and a mouse become fast friends as they play in and around the goldfish's bowl. But when three cats crash the party and terrify the poor goldfish, the brave little mouse gets an idea. She leads the three black cats on a wild and epic ch

Replaced Parts Blog Tour

Image
Replaced Parts In the year 2163 a corrupt World Government controls everything on our planet and beyond. Sixteen year-old Sierra has been so caught up in her own world of saving animal test subjects and her father’s disappearance, she hasn’t paid much attention. When she finally finds his location, she and her friend set off on a covert interplanetary mission to rescue him, she begins to see the corruption first hand. Discovering that her father has been on the front lines secretly trying to save human test subjects inspires her to join a revolution. But she is afraid of the collateral damage of hurting the people she loves. Will she find the strength to make a deal with the mad scientist Cromwell to save not just her friends and family but everyone? My Thoughts: Sierra is 16, and on a mission to find her missing dad. Her mission takes her to Planet Vortex, where she must devise a plan to save her dad from the evil Dr. Cromwell. This has all the hallmarks of a suspenseful Sci-Fi: actio

IMWAYR: 5.3.21

Image
 

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey - Out May 4

Image
  *Link takes you to my Instagram account:) “Utterly endearing!”  —Annie Barrows,  New York Times -bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books "Hilarious and heart-melting .”  —Sara Pennypacker,  New York Times -bestselling author of  Pax Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and  New York Times– bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly! Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey  is an illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of  Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller,  and  Ramona the Pest  will be thrilled to meet Marisol. Marisol Rainey’s mother was born in the Philippines. Marisol’s father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard she calls Peppina . . . but she’s way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana tow