Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey - Out May 4

 

*Link takes you to my Instagram account:)

“Utterly endearing!” —Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books


"Hilarious and heart-melting.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax


Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!


Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is an illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller, and Ramona the Pest will be thrilled to meet Marisol.

Marisol Rainey’s mother was born in the Philippines. Marisol’s father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard she calls Peppina . . . but she’s way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana town with a mother who was born elsewhere and a father who lives elsewhere (most of the time)—the only girl who’s fearful of adventure and fun.


Will Marisol be able to salvage her summer and have fun with Jada, her best friend? Maybe. Will Marisol figure out how to get annoying Evie Smythe to leave her alone? Maybe. Will Marisol ever get to spend enough real time with her father? Maybe. Will Marisol find the courage to climb Peppina? Maybe.  


Told in short chapters with illustrations by the author on nearly every page, Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, and the triumph of overcoming your fears in this stunning new novel for readers of Kevin Henkes, Meg Medina, Andrew Clements, Sara Pennypacker,  and Kate DiCamillo. 


Features black-and-white artwork throughout by Erin Entrada Kelly.


Marisol Rainey is the most down to earth 8 year old I’ve ever met in a story. She’s so real, so raw. I love that Erin shared she’s a reflection of herself as a kid, which makes it all that more indulging. You get to know Erin as a child through the character development of Marisol.
Marisol has fears. She sometimes feels ashamed of these fears, but with a best friend, Jada, who is always supportive, she knows deep down she can do anything. Maybe, just maybe, she will muster up that courage. Especially to climb her tree, Peppina. This is the best for an early chapter book! Look out for it in May!

Here are some friends reviews! 





*Afflink to help support Teachers Who Read when you click to purchase! 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

2017 Mock Newbery Ideas *Ongoing Post

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling - Teacher and Student Review