Kids Managing Covid - 13 Things Strong Kids Do! - Review

 

Click on the image to purchase the book! 
*Afflink

The internationally bestselling author of 13 Things Mentally Strong People Don’t Do, Amy Morin, empowers tweens, teaching them how to think, feel, and act stronger than ever! Perfect for fans of The Confidence Code for Girls, this book tackles mental strength in a relatable way. Filled with fun graphics and illustrations throughout.

“This book is a powerful gift to kids—it shows them how to help themselves!” —Claire Shipman, New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Confidence Code for Girls

Do you worry that you don’t fit in? Do you feel insecure sometimes? Do you wish your life looked as perfect as everyone else on social media? Do you have anxiety about things you can’t control? Being a tween can be really hard, especially in today’s world.

You balance it all—homework, extracurricular activities, chores, friendship drama, and family, all while trying to give the impression that you know exactly what you’re doing. Sometimes when we try to look perfect on the outside, we can feel rotten in the inside.  Do you want to become a stronger person, inside and out? By picking up this book, you’re already taking the first step toward becoming a better person where it counts—by training your brain.

Prominent psychotherapist and social worker Amy Morin offers relatable scenarios, then shows tweens the ways they can develop healthy habits, build mental strength, and take action toward becoming their best selves. 13 Things Strong Kids Do gives tweens the tools needed to overcome life’s toughest challenges.

This nonfiction middle grade book is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 8, including those living through the stresses of homeschooling, returning to the classroom, and navigating a changed and stressful world.


A person sitting on a table

Description automatically generatedAmy Morin is a licensed clinical social worker, instructor at Northeastern University, and psychotherapist. She is the author of the international bestseller 13 Things Mentally Strong People Don’t Do, as well as 13 ThingsMentally Strong Parents Don’t Do. Amy is a regular contributor to Verywell, CNBC, Forbes, Inc., and Psychology Today. She gave one of the most viewed TEDx talks of all time and was named the “self-help guru of the moment” by The Guardian. She lives in Marathon, Florida. 13 Things Mentally Strong Kids Do is her fourth book.

 

 

“Morin, a clinical social worker, lays out the 13 everyday habits that could be holding you back from achieving your best self. For example, dwelling on the past and resenting others for their success is not making your life any better. (Again, shocking!) Morin wants to help you change these negative behaviors into positive ones...so maybe you should let her.”

Cosmopolitan on 13 Things Mentally Strong People Don’t Do


Watching parents try and navigate not only life, but answers to kids during this pandemic as a teacher has been a struggle. When everything changed a year ago, I felt I was drowning in juggling teaching and being home with my two toddlers who just weren't really understanding much of anything. I had parents emailing me on how to manage the situation, what best ways to support, and even still trying to navigate those who chose to work from home during this school year. This is a great book to empower kids to understand how truly strong and resilient they are. 

I especially loved that this story was not preachy or condescending. I feel like kids get enough of that in their day to day, either in person or via social media/gaming outlets they turn to. The language she uses is simple and easy to follow for readers of this age group. The way it's written is helpful in being able to target this audience and really engage her intended audience. 

I highly recommend for those who need a little boost of confidence - this school year has been challenging. This may just be the right book to remind those kids who they are, and all they have to offer. 






No comments